Inside A Beautiful Mind – Dee Wilson

2016-23-6--15-56-15

 

Good Morning Everyone and happy Friday

Welcome to Inside A Beautiful Mind.

For those of you who have been here before, go grab your coffee, tea or beverage of choice and come sit with me as we get comfy and have a visit with my new friend Dee Wilson.

Good Morning Dee, thank you for hanging out with me this morning and being a part of Inside A Beautiful Mind.
For those of you who don’t know, Dee and I were recently contenders in the 2017 Kobo Emerging Writers competition and Dee was awarded the winners prize. Just want to take this moment to say a HUGE Congrats to you on winning. Amazing accomplishment, so proud of you.

So now let’s get to it and tell our readers a little bit about yourself.

Me, in numbers… I’m a redhead, and meet all the requirements of such. I run two Dee Willson Photo 3, Color, Web Sizebusinesses. I have two beautiful daughters. Hubby and I are celebrating twenty years. I love to read and write. I am the author of two books, with another two on the way.

Can you tell us about your books?

I am the author of A Keeper’s Truth, and GOT (Gift of Travel). I am currently working on the second installment of A Keeper’s Truth, titled The Truth Enslaved, and a quirky coming-of-age identy struggle titled No Apology For Being.

What inspired you to write your first book, A Keeper’s Truth?

A Keeper’s Truth came to me in a dream, and wouldn’t let go. The urge to note what I’d seen and heard in my sleep was strong, and I found myself writing a novel before the concept really entered my mind. I guess you can say I was compelled, versus inspired.

Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?
There are scenes inspired by events in my life, but the characters and situations are not details I’ve experienced personally. One of my favorite scenes (in the book) describes a moment I shared with a stranger in a mall, when my daughter was a baby. A woman approached me insisting my daughter was an old soul, that she’d lived many lives. She claimed my daughter “knows things.” Quite freaky at the time, but has meaning in hindsight. Or could have meaning, should one attempt to interpret the concept.

What was your favorite parts to write and why?
Hmm… I think my favorite scenes to write were between Bryce and Thomas, the two leading men. They have a complicated history, so there is all this tension, and hidden subtleties that could only come through during dialogue. They are also very strong personalities, making their dialogue fun to write.

How did you come up with the titles?
I never seem to struggle with titles. Or character names. They are just there, like they are part of the story waiting to be told. Sometimes, as is the case with No Apology For Being, the title comes to me on a whim, and then I hear all or parts mentioned in conversations, or on television, or on the radio, and I sort of feel like the universe is trying to tell me I’m onto something. LOL.

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment?
We live in a world where money, success, and acclaim are tightly entwined. I think the toughest criticism to take as an author, is to see how little money your work is (sometimes) worth. To others, anyway. And I am, hands down, my worst critic. The best KOBO Awards Ceremony, 2017compliment was winning the Kobo Best Canadian Emerging Writer Award. I would like to say the pat on the back isn’t necessary, but it really does feel good.

Do you have any unique or quirky writing habits?
My worst habit is not writing at all. I live a busy life, and I wish writing could always take the front seat, but it doesn’t always work out that way. I can’t write with noise or chaos happening around me. I’m not good at staying focused. I have to write in a different room than where I work, so I don’t get distracted by email and paperwork calling my name. LOL.

What’s the strangest thing you have ever had to research online for your book?
What it feels like to die. Like the actual feel of it. How would this ever really be documented, anyway? LOL.

Give us an interesting fun fact about your book.

The original draft of A Keeper’s Truth was twenty thousand words over the published version, and took me less than ten weeks to write. Learning what I’d done wrong, however, and how to edit those overwritten words, took me almost four years, and countless more words as notes. Writing is one thing. Learning to write well is another altogether.

Do you work with an outline, or just write?

A Keeper’s Truth was written on a whim. The first draft, anyway. I learned my lesson, however, and wrote GOT (Gift of Travel) with a clear outline. No Apology For Being is outlined as well, to the point where the story is written before it’s written. I find this allows me to focus on the words, the sentence structure, the characters, without getting caught up in the plot or loose ends.

Can you tell us about your experiences in getting your first book published?
I signed with an agent of a reputable firm, but her personal struggles overtook her career and I found myself unrepresented within a year. A Keeper’s Truth was sold to Driven Press. They are a small imprint with big dreams. I love what they aim for, what they represent, and how they support me and my writing. They listened to my opinion regarding the publishing details of A Keeper’s Truth, and I’m not convinced I would have felt the same love from a bigger publisher. That said, their size makes distribution and marketing difficult. Every author should do their homework, and decide what route is best for them. This even changes with future works, as our writing career isn’t stagnant.

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?

I have my first rejection letter from Berkley Publishing. I keep it framed, to remind me of the long path I’ve taken. I was fifteen. I didn’t finish the first draft of A Keeper’s Truth until I was in my thirties. I often say that writing took the slowly marinated route to me.AKT e-book cover final 1400x2100

How did you choose the genre you write in?
I write genre? LOL. I write the story that comes to me. Genre is for marketing teams and retailers. That said, I tend to write similar to what I like to read, which is fast pace books that cross genre lines and blur rules. I like to think outside the box, and stuff formula under the carpet.

Where do you get your ideas?
They come to me on a breeze. Anytime. Anywhere. Usually they start with some silly notion or curiosity. GOT (Gift of Travel), for example, was brought to me by roadkill. Yep, you read that right, roadkill. I was on a road trip with the kids and couldn’t believe the number of poor dead animals on the side of the road. Here I was, this selfish human being, driving my car through mountains and forests, while they had their lives brutally stripped by passing death-mobiles, just so we could get from point A to point B on a tight schedule. I found myself apologizing to each and every one. And GOT was born.

Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way?
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. Hands down, the best book ever written, in my mind. I have at least four copies, each battered from use, and refuse to admit how many times I’ve read and reread the book in its entirety, never mind specific pages. Every author could learn A LOT reading this book.

Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?
Write because you love to, because a story calls to you. Write because you can’t imagine doing anything else with your time. Not only will your future readers feel the love that you feel, but you’ll have gained something more valuable than money or praise. The craft in itself is a gift. Enjoy every moment.

What is your favorite quote or saying?
“Fear is just excitement in need of an attitude adjustment.”

Tea or coffee?
Tea. No caffeine.

Sweet or salty?
Both. Ideally, together.

Would you like to share with us a passage that will give us a glimpse into the world you built?
Every one of us has a soul. Some are new, some old, and a few, the dangerous, are lost. But only twelve know why we have a soul at all. Only twelve remember mankind’s forbidden past.

Would you mind sharing with us the best way to stay in touch with you and where to learn more about your books?
Absolutely!
Website: www.deewillson.com
Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/dee.willson.52
Goodreads author page: https://www.goodreads.com/DeeWillson
Twitter: @denisewillson

Alright folks, it is that time again but I would like to say a heart felt thank you to Dee Wilson for sharing with us and spending some time in her world today. Once again Congrats to you on a job well done. Keep your eyes on her.

Also, I would like to say a big thank you to the lovely readers out there for joining in and taking a moment to support your Authors.

If you or any of you know of someone who would like to be a part of Inside A Beautiful Mind, please send me a message.
Enjoy your Friday folks, you are awesome and please remember to be kind to your Authors, leave a review. See you in a couple of weeks, Peace.

Leave a Reply

