Inside A Beautiful Mind – K.A. Linde

2016-23-6--15-56-15

Good Morning Everyone and happy Friday

Welcome to Inside A Beautiful Mind.

Go grab your coffee, tea or beverage of choice and come sit with me as we look inside the wonderfully creative mind of K.A. Linde.

Good Morning K.A., thank you for taking time away from your busy schedule to hang out with me.

So let’s get right to it, can you tell me a little bit about yourself.kalinde-copy

I write under a pen name, K.A. Linde, but it’s just initials so not really that crazy. I just moved to Lubbock, TX all the way from Chapel Hill, NC. I’m the USA Today bestselling author of over fifteen novels in contemporary romance and new adult.

Can you tell us about your upcoming book?

My next release will be Silver, which is the 5th and final book in the All That Glitters series, which is about 3 Vegas gold diggers. Silver centers around Stacia, whose life goal is to marry an NFL quarterback and all of her crazy adventures as she discovers herself along the way. Not to mention…sexy football players.

What inspired you to write your first book?

I wrote my first book when I was a freshman in high school. It’s almost a hundred thousand words long and it reads like Gossip Girl comes to the west coast. I’d been writing short stories all my life, but I think the idea came actually when we were supposed to write a short story for my honors geography class. I wrote about a surfer in Australia, but I ended up moving it to Malibu and one of the two main girls is that surfer.

Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?

Every story always has something real in it. There’s too much of me and my crazy life experiences to not have some of me in it.

What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

I don’t know if I have a favorite chapter ever. But I think usually my favorite scenes to write are arguments. I love when the characters just tear into each other and don’t hold back. It usually leads to them fixing things. 

How did you come up with the title?

Most of the time, I have the title for a book before I even really know what it’s about. Titles have to come to me first before I can write the book. I like to do a lot of idioms for my books like Off the Record and On the Record or Take Me for Granted and Take Me with You. But they usually just come to me.

Do you have any unique or quirky writing habits?

I think the only real quirky habit is that I always write at night. I do my best creative thinking from like 11pm-3am.

What’s the strangest thing you have ever had to research online for your book?

Oh man, I don’t know. I’ve had to do a lot of weird research. Either stuff about crimes or figuring out how to get a minor out of the country without anyone looking at her passport.

Give us an interesting fun fact about your book.

When I first started writing the All That Glitters series, I knew it was about three girls, Bryna, Trihn, and Stacia, who would each get their own story. And I knew from the beginning that Stacia, who I’m writing now in Silver, changed her name when she turned 18 and went to college. So the whole time that all of her friends are calling her Stacia, through four books, they don’t know her real name yet.

Do you work with an outline, or just write?

Both. I usually start with an outline of the story and then the story writes itself as I go. I deviate a lot from the outline and readjust as I go.

Can you tell us about your experiences in getting your first book published?

Avoiding Commitment was my first book published back in July 2012. I’d had it up online for free on FictionPress.com for almost two years. S.C. Stephens had been telling me to publish, but I randomly got an email from Colleen Hoover telling me to publish. And I was like, “Who the hell is Colleen Hoover?” She turned out to be pretty awesome and gave me the push to do it.

How did you choose the genre you write in?

I don’t feel like the genre so much as it chose me. I just started writing and then people told me later it was romance and new adult and a love triangle. And I was like huh…really?

Where do you get your ideas?

Everywhere. Dreams. Travel. Randomly walking down the street. Conversations with people. My experiences.

Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

Tons! But my favorite books are Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card and Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. They taught me to look at the world in a different way.

Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?

Write a good book. Worry about all the other headache-y marketing, branding, publishing side of things after you have a book you love. You only have one shot at a debut.

What is your favorite quote or saying?

For writing: Keep your head down and write.
Otherwise: Well behaved women rarely make history.

Tea or coffee?

Neither.

Sweet or salty?

Sweet

Would you mind sharing with us the best way to stay in touch with you and where to learn more about your books?

mailing list https://app.mailerlite.com/webforms/landing/i1x5e2

facebook www.facebook.com/authorkalinde
facebook group www.facebook.com/groups/kalindebooks
ascension series group www.facebook.com/groups/theaffiliate
twitter www.twitter.com/authorkalinde
instagram www.instagram.com/authorkalinde
pinterest www.pinterest.com/authorkalinde
amazon http://www.amazon.com/K.A.-Linde/e/B008QWI2CM

Alright folks, it is that time again but I would like to say a heart felt thank you to K.A. Linde for letting us spend some time with her today and see inside her creative process. And a big thank you to all you readers out there for taking a moment to support your Authors.

If you or any of you know of someone who would like a few minutes of limelight on Inside A Beautiful Mind with me, please send me a message.

Enjoy your Friday folks, you are awesome and please remember to be kind to your Authors, leave a review. See you in a couple of weeks, Peace!!

Leave a Reply

